top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureGeorgia Alishia Hill

I am a ISFP!

Your probably wondering what this is. ISFP is my personality type, there are many many more. What’s this mean? Well it means multiple things but firstly here is what it stands for; Introversion, sensing, feeling and perceiving. Summed up this show’s that I draw my energy in my own company. I like to experience new things and focus on reality, I prioritise emotions over facts and finally I prefer being flexible and spontaneous. Your personality type says a lot about you and I’ve found myself diving into research to try and pick away at why I do and feel certain things.It’s put me in a good situation with myself knowing there are reasons as to why I do and feel things I am unsure of.


There are a lot of things I already knew about myself for example, I live in the present and when I come to the point where I need to make a decision, I don’t think ahead, I just do it. Obviously, this could be a good and a bad thing. It was bad idea when I was having a bad day and decided to quit my job. Not thinking of the consequences... yep I learnt the hard way and struggled to find work for months. On the other hand, the choice I made to drop out of uni, without thinking of my future, was actually a good choice because I clearly wasn't enjoying it. I dropped out, came back home to work and had the best summer ever. Then realised I wanted to study something different. So I went back to uni somewhere else and now love the coarse I'm doing and prefer it so much more.


One of the things I had trouble understanding was why I was so giving to others. I gave a lot more to some knowing I wouldn't get the same back. Which leads to me questioning, why do I emphasise so much for others more than myself? Why cant I give my self the emotional stability I give to the people close to me? Well as I was discovering more about myself, I learnt that as an ISFP, I have a natural desire to help the lives of other. I am emotionally vulnerable and always try pleasing people. Again there are situations where this is a good thing and then a not so great thing. Although sometimes I find myself trying to help others more than me, it can get stressful when I know I could do with some of my own advice. We all know how that works, we give out what we struggle to give ourselves. Despite the fact sometimes I feel that way, I wouldn't change the fact I'm an empathetic person. Also, it’s good to know why I'm like it.


There are many many more things I can ramble on about and share what I discovered; but there just so much to explore. I found out my personality type by taking this test; http://www.humanmetrics.com/cgi-win/jtypes2.asp


Sarah Terry, who was my counsellor for many years, introduced me to seeing myself in this different perspective. Here is a link to her website, which includes a regular blog and she even has a book; check it out. https://sarahterry.co.uk






94 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page